November 11th

I’m glad I had Wednesday off… I hadn’t planned to take it off. But I’m glad I had that day to mourn for the loss of my country, and my world as I know it.

Thanks to our new president, we as a country (and really, as a world, if you consider how much America’s actions ripple out internationally) are about to enter into a new era of hatred, unkindness, cruelty and indignity.

We are about to become a country where no one who is black, Muslim, Hispanic, gay or female will feel safe. Not for the next four years, anyhow. Because we have elected a man who does nothing but spew hatred. A man who no respect for anyone or anything outside of himself – certainly no respect for the country he is about to govern, or the people within it. No respect for women, his wife included. No respect for marriage. No respect for others. Or for our constitution.

We have elected a malevolent, bigoted, rapist-in-chief and I’m sorrowful that our country has come to this.

I had Wednesday to drink and cry – to mourn the loss of the freedoms we enjoy and the loss of what could have been. Not because Hillary was a fantastic candidate or because I’m under the illusion that she was flawless – but because, underneath whatever flaws she had, she is a reasonable human being, who I feel has always tried her best to govern thoughtfully.

Because President Trump certainly won’t do what is best for the people. Or even for the GOP.  He will do what is best for himself. Because someone so juvenile and selfish cannot do otherwise.

I will continue to mourn as I watch our freedoms corroded away by this poisonous man.

I will watch as we lose our reproductive rights.

As we lose the freedom of speech.

And the freedom of the press.

He has threatened to sue anyone who publishes anything negative about him – not anything untrue – just anything negative. And you’d be foolish to think that anyone so shallow and vain, given the power of the presidency, wouldn’t follow through on those threats.

I will look on in sorrow as the innocent are harassed and threatened and hurt – and, in many cases, I’m sure, killed. I will watch the inevitable and exponential rise in hate crimes, most of which will go unpunished … Because when you elect a man who does nothing but hate, how can you successfully prosecute hate crimes?

Any environmental agreements and nuclear non-proliferation agreements we’ve signed over the past several years will be thrown out.

Any hope we’ve had for the future of this country is gone. Or, indeed, for the future of the world. We’ve just handed power to a cruel, childish, juvenile man – one who thinks of nothing but himself and his own self-interest. One to whom lying comes as easily as breathing.

I will watch the freedom of the press evaporate. I will watch my friends live in fear as their rights are taken away from them. I will watch the rise of a rape-culture where anything is yours if you have the ability to take it.

I will watch all of this in fear.

And to those of you who voted for him – Congratulations. You’ve just successfully handed the nuclear codes to a childish megalomaniac with a hair trigger. You’ve handed power to a man who has never been denied anything he wanted in his life – a person who has never heard the word ‘no.’ A dangerous, thoughtless, selfish man.

Perhaps stating that this is the end of the world is a bit much… It may not be the end of the world. But it’s pretty damn close. It’s certainly going to be the end of life as we have known it.

Today is the day I mourn for my country – for what it was and what it will never become.

Today is the day I grieve for my hopes and the possibility of a bright future for our country.

Today is a dark day for America. And for the world.

Do I know the future? I don’t. I just have a knowledge of who this person is – of his past behavior and his character. I know enough to be scared. And I have a really bad feeling about our future.

I’m sure no one will read this – I’m sure my opinion matters about as much as a feather in the wind. But I will end by saying this – the only way that we can combat the hatred that will spew from the white house in the near future is with kindness.

It won’t be enough to undo the damage, but we owe it to ourselves, and to each other, to do our best. So be kind to each other. Take care of each other. Protect each other. Because it is only through kindness that we can defeat hatred.

Thank you.

Please share these crisis hotline numbers:
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-8255
Crisis Text Line: Text START to 741-741
Trans Lifeline: (877) 565-8860
The Trevor Project (LBGTQ+ youth): 1-866-488-7386
National Sexual Assault Hotline: 1-800-656-4673

To report a hate crime: 1-800-VICTIMS

 

Leave a Reply

